Not many young people in countries around the world go to and enjoy concerts and plays. Why is this the case? How should they be encouraged to attend?

In contemporary society, fewer and fewer youngsters are becoming interested in attending performing art all over the world. This tendency stems from several reasons such as consequences of technology and financial barriers; however, viable resolutions exist to address this concern.

First and foremost, the major factor is advancements in technology, which offer a variety of digital entertainment options to young individuals. Online platforms, be it streaming websites or music platforms, give them opportunity to enjoy without pushing themselves to go anywhere else. As a vivid example, Netflix and Spotify provide premium subscriptions without ads, made easily accessible to dive into the world of films and music, despite where the person is and what time is. In addition, economic constraints are another prevalent cause. Since stage performances can be highly costly for low-income society, they are most likely to focus on meeting their basic needs rather than taking part in pleasurable activities. As a striking example, Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs theory, which outlines five stages, suggests that a person can only fulfill with self-esteem, love, and belonging, when they surpass the level of survival in life.

On the other hand, digital integration might be as a tool of solving this ramification. Engaging visual effects can draw the attention of audiences. In doing so, unique and modernized style of live events and shows are likelihood of boosting as to attract individuals. Consequently, those who experience the sense of pleasure will desire to take part more and more. Furthermore, impoverished community group should be considered, when ticket prices get formed. Especially, non-profit organizations in the country should organize free concerts in terms of government funding in order to equip their nations with perspectives and visions.

In conclusion, gigs and dramas are the part of culture and history, which ought to raise awareness among younger populations. Although there is a downward development regarding going to concerts and plays, it can be reduced by aforementioned solutions.