Now a lot of people in college are doing academic study. We should encourage them to learn vocational skill (like plumbers and electricians). Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays formal eduction is an essential part for an individual’s personal and professional growth. Some believe that it is beneficial for everyone to have skill based learning along with core academics. I firmly believe that university should encourage students to excel in vocational learning.

There are many benefits of having vocational learning in professional field. Firstly, various additional learning makes an individual to earn more in order to have financial stability. Secondly, certain skills will help people to set up their own business. For example, skill of sewing will make ladies financially independent by setting up small scale business. Another benefit is that having vocational skills will increase job opportunity in the market. Nowadays companies demand additional skillset from the employees. In such scenario, this learning will add value in their resume and increase the chance of employment.

At personal level, vocational skills are always being useful. First of all, with the help of such skills, one can do things on their own without relying on others. For instance, knowledge of an automotive repairing will help a person to fix his car without relying on anybody. Apart from that, in some countries these type of works are very expensive and time consuming. In such case, one can save money and time by using this acquired knowledge. Additionally, students get the sense of fulfilment when they apply their knowledge into practice.

To sum up, for the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that student must gain vocational skills to be successful in their career.