Now a lot of people in college are doing academic study. We should encourage them to learn vocational skill (like plumbers and electricians). Do you agree or disagree?

Many people who are studying in college are only focusing on acquiring text book knowledge. While it is crucial for them to carry good marks in exams, I believe that

they should be motivated to develop non-academic skills such as plumbing and electricity maintenance.

Having knowledge on vocational skills will help students become independent. They could earn pocket money while still studying which will not only lower the burden from their parents but also boost their self confidence. In addition, this skills will strengthen their resume. For instance, when they will compete with other candidates having same educational qualification as them for a position in a office, this added skills will increase the possibility of getting that job.

Vocational skills are necessary to tackle unemployment problem. This is because, job market is becoming competitive. Despite having higher educational achievements, many people are struggling to find a decent job. If these people have training in basic life skills, they will neve suffer from unemployment. Students who learned how to fix household equipment will be benefitted in the long run. They wouldn’t have to pay extra money to call in experts when something in their household gets broken. This will allow them to save money which can be spent in other necessities.

In conclusion, it is important to encourage students to learn vocational skills which will help them in so many aspects.