Nowadays a growing number of boys and girls within normal weight ranges have an intense fear of gaining weight and therefore get anorexia. Why do you think a lot of teenagers have a strong desire to be skinny?

The current era of being called a fashionista or influencer is soaring high in young males and females. Despite being healthy, they fear of putting on more weight. This engenders to anorexia and hormonal imbalance in people. There are numerous reasons as to why youngsters have a determined will to be petite. I will explain the reasons as well as provide some measures to lessen the desire to be underweight in the upcoming paragraphs.

The paramount fact is the fear of rejection in the peer group. Generally, teens are judged on the basis of their looks and physiques. This in turn, builds a situation of self-doubt and youngsters assume that the only way to make a name in group is to change themselves. Therefore, they end up joining gyms and eat insufficient food in order to build a lean body structure.

Secondly, there is a huge impact of the film celebrities and personalities on children. Although, these celebrities have to be in a specific weight range because of the demand in their profession but youngsters do not understand the real agenda. Hence, they try to follow what well-known people do for their bodies. Recently, a news came out that a young girl in China eats only a single spoon of rice so that she can remain in her desired weight. Such a condition can turn into a serious menace in long run.

In order to address this issue, a number of preventive steps can be taken into consideration. First, it should be the responsibility of parents to keep a careful watch on the activities of their children. Second, health education should be taught in schools so that teenagers recognize the value of a sound body. Third, society should acknowledge the fact that every body needs to be respected irrespective of weight, height, facial features and many more.

To summarize, there is no doubt that young children have an inclination towards being skinny. However, this eagerness can lead to dreadful conditions. Hence, precautionary steps should be adopted to curb such unhealthy activities.