Nowadays, a large amount of advertising aimed at children should be banned because of the negative effects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Streets and internet websites are full of commercial advertisement targeted at kids and there has also been controversies regarding it, whether it must be prohibited or allowed. I of course agree that it must be restricted.

On the one hand, in recent years, the number of advertisements in the world has increased dramatically. There are several pros to commercials. First of all, many companies use advertising to attract the costumers, which helps the economy grow. If companies ban advertisements, this could harm businesses overall profit and lead to fewer earnings. In addition, not all advertising is harmful. Some commercials teach vital lessons, such as health and safety. For example, advertisements showing the importance of washing hands or teeth, eating fruits, and wearing seat belts can positively influence children.

On the other hand, advertising has cons, too. To begin with, many advertisements have children on target with fast food, sugary drinks, and snacks which are harmfull for their health. Over time, this can lead to obesity, diabetes, or tooth decay. For instance, advertisements made by companies like McDonald’s or Coca-Cola attract children with several tools such as toys, music, and colorful animations. Moreover, most of commercials cause extra expenses for parents. Nowadays, many children want to buy the toys or food they see in advertisements, and parents are often forced to buy them, so their children do not be upset.

To sum up, advertisements have pros and cons sides. Advantages might be seen where advertisements support economy grow and some commercials are helpful for children. While disadvantages, when this phenomenon leads to the promotion of unhealthy lifestyle and put financial pressure to parents.