Nowadays, a large amount of advertising aimed at children should be banned because of the negative effects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era , advertisements intended for young people are prevalent in many parts of the world. Some people consider that they should be prohibited due to existing detrimental impacts on children.I completely agree that advertising directed at children should be restricted because it harms their development and promotes unhealthy values.

First of all,advertisements serves as a manipulative tool for children aiming to persuade them to buy their product without informing side effects of consumer goods.Young people can easily influenced by this adverts as their critical thinking skills are not well-developed at this early ages. They are mostly attracted by what they see in adds and are manipulated into wanting unnecessary or harmful products. For example, many ads promote sugary snacks, fast food, and soft drinks which lead to obesity and health problems.Not only do children develop poor eating habits, but they are also encouraged to buy toys or clothes that may have harmful effects on their bodies.

Secondly, advertisements have emotional and social effects – materialism, pressure on parents. They initiate peer pressure, jealousy, and a desire for luxury brands from a young age. For instance, if a child purchases the latest gadgets or branded clothes they will consider themselves superior than others who do not have. After seeing this other children want to buy advertised items like their peers. moreover, children constantly ask their parents to buy products represented in ads. this may eventually pose financial and emotional pressure on parents. This causes family stress and unnecessary spending with undermining monetary system and values of a family.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that advertising aimed at children should be controlled or even banned.Because children need protection from manipulative advertising and that banning or restricting it is beneficial for families and society.