Nowadays, a large amount of advertising aimed at children should be banned because of the negative effects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the current age, huge numbers of advertising campaigns should be outlawed because of their detrimental effects on the children and adolescents. Some of these campaigns’ content is full of inappropriate and immoral material, which is harmful to children’s behavior and mental development. I am believe that such campaigns have to be blocked before going viral on the internet and in streets.

In the beginning, many corporates tend to host marketing campaigns for their products targeting the children, as they put their financials as a priority, and neglect children’s health. In other words, some products might be harmful for kids’ health, mental and physical development. An eminent example for this is “Nutella” which is a well-known dairy corporate producing spread chocolate. They usually incorporate how this type of chocolate is beneficial for kids’ physical growth owing to its nutritional value. However, this type of chocolate is full of refined sugar, carbohydrates and palm oil which are not adding any healthy value to kids who eat this chocolate for breakfast. Nevertheless, it is a harmful product leading to excessive weight gain and might eventually lead to diabetes and obesity.

Moreover, other companies add false information regarding their products to trick the children, so they can widen their popularity and increase sales. Certainly, integrating fake properties to the products will attract more customers and specially the children, subsequently, children will pester their parents and burden them financially. For instance, Tech companies are always releasing new video games and software programs with illogical specifications, so kids tend to buy the new editions of PC, video graphics cards and laptops for high prices. What can be said is that regulations against a myriad of companies should be done accordingly in order to guide the parents and help them tackle the challenges which they face with their children.

In conclusion, after this essay has shown the demerits of some advertisements, it can be noted that guardians have to guide their children through what they watch, listen to, and read on social media platforms and on the internet. I reiterate my opinion that marketing campaigns with deleterious impact on kids have to be outlawed.