Nowadays, as a part of educational process, students work at a company for a short period of time without pay. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the present scenario, short-term jobs without remuneration is a part of education system. Students who are working without any pay face obstacles such as financial burden besides, benefits like good industrial exposure and availability of non-financial incentives which outweigh the disadvantages.

The most importantly, excellent industrial expertise gained through internship by students are more beneficial. As a fresher, organizations assume them as incapable to complete assigned tasks because of practical experience such as planning, organizing, coordination and controlling, instead of mere theoretical knowledge. Thus, by enrolling in contractual jobs without salary will enhance student’s knowledge in connection to the real world. Likewise, perks is also an added advantage ,where scholars will get excellent reference letter, expertise certificate, cover letter from employers which serves as a valuable document to seek good opportunities further. For instance, in India campus placement helps undergraduate to secure quality certificate that can be used in foreseeable future.

In contrast, jobs without wages is defective as it lowers pupils academic scores. To explain whenever a student acquires a short-term job, they are distracted from focusing on studies due to hectic work. Consequently, a noticeable decrease in percentage of marks secured can be observed subsequently leading to poor academic background. For example, student interns are having lower university performance when compared students who are devoted purely on academics. Thus the greater we seek internship without salary during studies, the lower academic background it gets. So the disadvantages are quite negligible in comparison to the advantages, thereby outweighing the merits.

To conclude, relying on unpaid jobs while studying is not a good option while considering the academic scores of scholars, but it is worth in terms of incentives provided other than money and practical exposure gained which benefits scholars to have bight future in long run.