Nowadays both men and women spend a lot of money on beauty care than ever before. What may be the primary reason for this? Is this is positive or negative development?

In this day and age beauty care products cost more than ever in the past, both for men and women. This is caused by multiple changes in our society and on the market. I believe that overall, this is a beneficial change for the population.

First of all, the main cause of this shift may be the presence of social media in our everyday life. As internet and the online world have became available for most of the people on the planet, it is easier to access information regarding others, and to compare ourselves to them. Hence, most of the people try to look as good as possible since the whole world is able to see their every move. Furthermore, the market has an enormous variety of choice in beauty products, and what could be simpler than shopping for these online?

Secondly, I think, that this is a positive development, as men and women take better care of themselves and their health. Even though for a long time, beauty was seen as something only females are concerned about, nowadays everyone seems to be a lot more aware of their appearance. This has other beneficial results as well, as it is obvious that beauty and health care have a lot in common. For instance, these days having bright and white teeth is something everyone dreams of. Despite this being considered as a beauty standard, it also has a positive impact on one’s health, as they pay more attention to their mouth hygiene. To sum up, both genders spend a lot more money on beauty items than ever before throughout the history, because of the availability of the internet and online shopping, but it is clearly a valuable change.