Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In recent years, young people have been more influenced by celebrities’ wealth and glamourous lifestyle than by the success in their works. Even though I agree that this trend can be harmful for teenagers, I still believe that it can bring some benefits to them.

On one hand, wealth and glamour can be a positive motive for the young adults. It is undeniable that together with talents, popular individuals have to work really hard to earn such a fortune. This means they should be able to enjoy their wealth and it can set good examples for ordinary ones to follow and idolize. For instance, Robert Downey Jr. used to be drug addict and had to spend time in prison. However, thanks to a great will, he eventually became the highest paid actor in the world in 2019.

On the other hand, if the teenagers pay too much attention on the money, they may forget about the hard work they have to sacrifice. It is a fact that nowadays, there are numerous young influencers wearing inappropriate clothes or posting controversial contents in order to be famous quickly and earn dirty money. These people do not have any talents or bring positive energy to the society but just dream about a glamourous lifestyle that they do not deserve.

From my own perspective, I believe the way that the media is drawing about celebrities’ expensive assets, is creating negative impact on young followers. Rather than posting about educational news about famous people, the paparazzi tends to focus on their cars, mansions, or jewelry. This helps direct the attention of young people, who are the major readers, to glamourous stuffs and make them lose interest in the positive energy that artists spread to the society.

In conclusion, I believe that the media needs to change the way young people are looking at celebrities. Instead of merely showing the fortune, it is necessary to tell them about the hard work that influencers have to give up for.