Nowadays children prefer electronic games to other games and toys. Why is it happening? Is it a positive or a negative development?

In this era of digitalisation, a clear transition of children shifting from traditional games to modern and technological games could be seen. This can be completely considered as a negative development. The causes behind it and the reasons why it is negatively influencing the young minds are discussed in the further essay.

Discussing the reasons, firstly, electronic games are too realistic and for the same reason, it ensures to grab the attention of players for a longer period of time. Also, it easily fulfills all the thrills and fun which a person wants to experience in real. For example, the VR games which are largely popular nowadays, allows a peson to visualise himself as a player riding sports car or fighting at a war zone. Another reason why youngsters play e-games is due to the connectivity it provides. In simple words, such games give facility to connect more number of players from any corner of the world which is quite intresting for them to meet new players. Lastly, young people do not want to step outdoors and play in their own comfort zone.

I personally consider this as a negative development because of two major reasons. Playing video games or on electronic devices can bring adverse impacts on the health. If children do not encounter with the real elements of the nature, they would have low immunity. For example, playing on ground, running, jumping helps body to be active and release toxicns through sweating. If one does not keep their body active, they might face major health challenges. Another reason is that, small children will not learn how to socialise, communicate and make friends in community. This can result a child growing in a conserved environment and become introvert.

To summarise, sticking to the gadgets do not ensures any development, rather it harms the mental and physical condition of the individuals. Hence, playing electronic games is not fruitful and in my opinion, outdoor and physical games are crucial for the growth of children.