Nowadays children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that these activities are not good for child's mental health. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

There has been an increasing number of hours that children spend on video games and watching TV. Some argue that this trend is not beneficial to children’s well-beings. In my opinion, I believe that such phenomenon has both positive and negative impact on the children’s mental health.

Looking at the positive side, it is true that some TV programs are educational as they teach children many different things regarding the real-life world as well as providing essential life lessons. For instance, a television program about wildlife can teach children about animals’ habitats, their diet and the way the behave. By watching that program children can more acquire knowledge about animals, thus utilizing such knowledge in the future as they see fit. Similarly, video games are often required children to overcome each level’s challenges. This, as a result, can develop young children’s problem-solving ability.

Nonetheless, watching TVs for many hours without breaks and playing video games excessively can have negative effects on children. According to psychology data, a child that has been exposed to inappropriate content, can never recover from what he or she saw. The unsuitable content for children can be violence, abuse, assault and pornography. This can lead to that child having trauma, therefore adversely damaged the well-being of the child. Not only that but video games can also lead to the feeling of isolation and eventually become depressed. Sleep disruption is another bad impact of TVs and games which can lead to the children’s brain not fully-developed.

In conclusion, I believe that TVs and video games can have positive effects and bring benefits to some extent, but excessive amount of usage can cause harm to children’s mental health.