Nowadays, children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some think that these activities are not beneficial for a child's mental health.

These days, watching TV and playing video games are suggested to harm a child’s mental health. To some extent, I agree with this view, but there are other aspects to take into account.

One main reason why watching TV and playing video games are harmful is that such activities restrict brain function. That is to say, when children spend a lot of time engaging in such activities, most of these engagements do not require mental function. For example, watching television is just getting information from different fields, such as news, forecasts, and many ads, or experiencing a variety of emotions from several movies. As a result, this overwhelming input can fill children’s brains with un necessary and nec essary facts, leading them to confuse their thoughts, which affects their mental health. Were it not for these engagements, children would not struggle with any mental problems. Given that, over-engaging in these activities can be seen in a negative light.

However, some research suggests that watching TV or playing video games can be beneficial to children. In other words, when children engage in such actions, they find that it helps them to relax. For instance, there are reports stating that they watch TV or play computer games after a long day in moderation and th at they have no mental trouble. That means watching television may play a more or less important role to help children unwind, but in moderation. Since we should not only think about the drawbacks of things, there are advantages of these actions.

In conclusion, although watching TV and playing video games have an important role in a child’s mental health, I believe that if children engage in these activities in moderation, there may be a less harmful effect on their mental well-being.