Nowadays, children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some think that these activities are not beneficial for a child's mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the digital age, TV screens and video games have become indispensable companions for children. Although this overuse does have negative impacts on children’s logical thinking and concentration, if used correctly, games and television programs are also excellent tools to stimulate imagination and aesthetic thinking.

On the one hand, games and TV play a crucial role in enhancing kids’ cognitive development. This is because they help with developing spatial thinking and problem-solving skills. Strategy or open-world games, such as world-building or puzzle-solving, require players to think logically, strategize, and react quickly. This actually increases brain flexibility. Moreover, they also nurture creativity and aesthetic appreciation. Beautifully animated films or games with profound storylines nourish artistic souls, stimulate rich imaginations, and shape aesthetic tastes from a young age.

On the other hand, digital screens also bring undeniable negative impacts to children’s mental well-being. First of which is a shortened attention span. Watching short videos with constantly changing scenes on TV or playing fast-paced games accustomed the brain to receiving strong stimuli immediately. When children have to sit and read a book or study a long essay in class, they can easily become bored and lose focus. Furthermore, children with excessive screen time are more prone to passive consumption. Watching too much TV is a one-way process. Children simply sit still and watch; their brains don’t need to exercise or solve problems, thus reducing their critical thinking abilities.

In conclusion, I partially agree since excessive exposure to television and computer games can bring both negative and positive effects on young groups. To keep a balanced approach, it is suggested to moderate screen time and proper guidance from parents to transform technology into a tool for intellectual development instead of an addictive substance that erodes thinking.