Nowadays, children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some think that these activities are not beneficial for a child's mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary society, kids often spend their time watching a lot of TV shows and playing video games. However, some people contend that these activities negatively affect children’s mental health. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this view.

One of the main reasons why spending time on TV and games isn’t useful is that they develop an addiction from a young age. When they are given electronic gadgets such as smartphones and TV, they may become addicted to these devices since it provides entertainment shows which keep them engaged. This habit over time will make children prefer to play in their cyberspace environment, instead of playing soccer or basketball in parks and fields with other youths around their neighborhood. As a result, this addiction neglects their opportunity to create strong relationships with new friends and neighbors. Moreover, it reduces physical activities which weakens their overall body strength.

The other reason why it is not beneficial is that they may find negative contents. Nowadays, youngsters can access online platforms, namely Youtube and Tiktok, to entertain themselves with funny videos and games. Yet many content creators take this opportunity to gain views and earnings, by uploading detrimental videos or dangerous stunts on these platforms. Therefore, children may comprehend all of this negative information they see and cultivate it into their understanding of nature. For instance, youngsters, who often see parkour in dangerous locations online, will have a desire to try it by themselves in those places such as on the top of buildings or rivers. Consequently, this mistaken understanding affects children’s daily life by changing their perception.

In conclusion, Although watching TV and playing games keeps children engaged, it may develop an addiction from a young age and retrieve a negative understanding of nature. For these reasons, I agree with the view that these activities aren’t beneficial for the children’s mental health.