Nowadays, children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some think that these activities are not beneficial for a child's mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In an era characterized by rapid technological advancements, it has become increasingly common for children to devote extensive hours to watching TV and playing computer games which has negative influence on children’s mental ability, especially in urban areas. While this development brings a number of benefits, it also has several notable drawbacks. This essay will examine both sides in detail.

One key reason for prioritizing TV and Computer games is that they may shorten concentration at classes. That is to say, when children spend a long hours on playing, they might become used to fast-moving images and find it difficult to focus on slower activities ranging from reading to studying. As a result, children cannot acquire valuable knowledge and improve critical thinking without doing these activities. Moreover, spending too much time on screen can cause mental health problems such as stress, anxiety and sleep problems as children spend so much time on surfing on the internet or playing online games with their friends at night time which can impact their future.

However, another idea against this is that television and some games are likely to develop their cognitive skills like memory, reaction time and strategic thinking. This is probably because, some kind of games not only include memory activities but also contain strategic methods. For instance, we have to create own strategy in competitive games in a push to win the game. In addition to this, many types of TV shows and films are generated in foreign languages that is the way which we can boost our vocabulary. If it were not for TV programs and games, we would not develop these abilities.

In conclusion, although screen can negative effect children’s health problems , there are also significant disadvantages such as improvement on cognitive skills and boosting vocabulary. Overall, both sides are important and should be carefully considered.