Nowadays, computer technology has replaced books as sources of information.

Nowadays, computer technology has replaced books as sources of information. Despite the fact the internet contains more information than books, the government still spends money on public libraries. I totally agree that this is a waste of money.

Firstly, on the internet we can find information faster and without leaving home unlike in the library where we must travel and spend time searching through shelves. For instance, when my grandmother needed to find an answer to her question in the past, she went to the library and spend hours looking through books. But now she uses internet search and gets answers directly from her phone within seconds. The government can maintain internet libraries, because it saves time and energy, making traditional libraries outdated.

Secondly, we can find any literature on the internet and read it without renting books and without responsibility to return them. For instance, the library has a limited number of books and if you don’t bring the book on time, you may be fined, with e-book you can forget about fines and book returns. Also, e-books solve the problem of books that are out of the stock, you can read any book without waiting for people to return it to the library.

In conclusion, computer technology has more advantages as a source of information than public libraries. I believe that the government should maintain internet libraries, because in the internet century most people prefer read books online. The internet solves most of the problems of traditional libraries, making spending on them an unnecessary waste.