Nowadays families are not as close as they used to be. What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to make families closer?

In our contemporary society, it is possible to observe a fall in the level of closeness between family members. This essay will provide information about the possible reasons for this phenomenon as well as hypothetical solutions to the stated issue.

To commence, a probable situation which might explain the lack of cohesion inside a familiar group could be the need to improve finances and achieve a better lifestyle. In fact, if an adult character decided to be dedicated for the most significant part to his job, this behaviour would eventually lead him to neglect his family. Given these circumstances, the emotional distance between each person inside the family could steadily rise. Moreover, nowadays the spread of social media and the internet connection is at its peak and may be targeted as an alleged cause of disruption among social and, in particular, familiar relations. Evidence for this appears in the fact that many more people, especially teenagers, spend a considerable amount of time in solitude on the screen, avoiding conversations with parents or other close relatives.

In these instances, endeavouring to build healthy relations between relatives might appear as a possible solution to the developing distance. An excellent example for this could be sharing moments together, e.g., having meals in company at home, organizing leisure or cultural activities on specific occasions or creating new family traditions. Therefore, it could be suggested to reinforce the bond between the members of the family by talking to each other and sharing emotions, ideas, and opinions.

In conclusion, even though these days the bond between relatives might seem less close than before, there are suitable options to alleviate it.