Nowadays genetically modified food is widespread all over the world. While proponents of GM crops ensure that these foods are safe for human consumption and help to increase food supplies, others argue that their effects on health have not been studied long enough. Discuss the pros and cons of genetically modified foods, and give your own opinion. As the world population increases, genetically modified crops are becoming essential to meet rising demands for food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a fact that science plays a significant role in our lives. Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about genetically modified food. Some people subscribe to the view that GM crops are safe to consume and assist in boosting food supplies. While others support the argument that GMO food is harmful to people’s health. I am one of those who strongly agree with the second idea because of the following reasons.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why people say that GMO food brings a lot of benefits. In the first place, they are good for the economy. With the growth of the population, the demand for food increases, so biotech food is a great method to provide enough food for humans. To explain, this biotechnology helps increase crop yields and plants more strong by eliminating insects and bacteria. Another factor to consider would be that GM crops create a great opportunity for the advancement of valuable nutrients. For example, biotech rice or gold rice contains more vitamin A than normal rice, developed to prevent blindness.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned advantages, there are several disadvantages of GMO food that should be taken into consideration. The first downside is that biotech food can pose a threat to people’s health. To be more specific, no research ensures the safety of this food, so there are arguments that it can cause allergies or even serious diseases such as cancer. Another point worth noting is that G crops create potential problems for the environment. This is because most of them can resist herbicides, so farmers may use a large amount of them to kill weeds which results in soil and water pollution.

To sum up, I am strongly convinced that genetically modified food can detrimentally influence people’s health and the environment. However, as far as I am concerned, the government and farmers should choose the most effective and suitable way for everyone. Only by doing so can we ensure that people will have a healthier, better, and more prosperous life.