Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this day and age, there are plenty of controversies that arise from the argument that, instead of sympathizing with local cultures, international travelers are likely to cause tension. From my perspective, I partly agree with this view.

On the one hand, it is undoubtedly true that the burgeoning tourism industry can have adverse impacts on several aspects related to domestic cultures. It may indirectly lead to conflicts and frustrations due to cultural barriers. Apparently, any nation has its own customs and superstitions that are legal within its boundaries. Thus, if tourists do not conduct research before visiting, they may unintentionally offend local values. Taking the sex performance in Thailand as an example, despite the fact that Thais regard this as the norm in their country, for most travelers it is a sensitive concern.

On the other hand, there are still numerous merits of the progression of international tourism that cannot be ignored. First and foremost, overseas travelers can boost cultural exchanges. Admittedly, different interracial inhabitants go along with a variety of national perceptions and understanding, which can offer opportunities for both tourists and locals to broaden their horizons about certain areas of the world. For instance, through involvement in a host of regional activities, having meals or engaging in cuisines and traditions, people will have a closer look into the local’s mindset and acquire new knowledge for themselves. In addition, some of the controversial disputes come from misunderstanding and false conceptions. Hence, thanks to international tourism, this bias can be erased since people are given an authentic glimpse into other cultures, and it assists in fixing the existing prejudices.

In conclusion, despite the language barriers that may create arguments and tensions between people, I have a conviction that overseas tourism can foster cross-cultural understanding due to the multiple positive impacts it offers. Nonetheless, travelers should also take responsibility in respecting and preserving the local property in the places they visit