Nowadays many parents pressure their children to be successful. Why? Positive/negative development?

In this day and age, children are expected to become extremely successful when they grow up. The main reason for this is the development of the community and I believe that this issue has a damaging effect on one’s improvement

Pressure on kids is thought to be the result of the advancement of society. When a community develops, the requirement for development of people is also raised. Being affected by those ideas, parents believe that their offsprings have to meet several certain needs, which they think can help their kids to achieve success in the future. Therefore, mothers and fathers are likely to put pressure on toddlers in the form of expectations, some sound even impossible. To be more specific, they force their children to study more than they did in the past, to gain even more knowledge of several aspects, a few of which are not necessary in life. The purpose is to create a bright future for them, when they have a high-paid job and a good life.

However, it has been proved that this phenomenon exerts an adverse impact on a child’s development. Putting considerable pressure on a child does not help them become better; conversely, it even makes them stressed. They will have a feeling that they would never be good enough to meet the expectations of their parents, which leads to self-doubt and also lack of self-esteem. Some individuals might even suffer from a few mental problems like major depressive disorder. For instance, in Vietnam, the rate of young people who commit suicide has increased considerably in recent decades due to depression. Moreover, being forced to do something they are not good or not interested in can cause the opposite result, which is called disorientation.

Parents are now imposing more expectations on their children. I suppose it is affected by the gradually developed society and the negative impact of this outweighs the advantages.