Nowadays, many people change jobs quite regularly, rather than working in the one company for their entire careers. Why do you think this is happening? How can companies keep their workers?

In the modern world, employees tend to switch jobs much more often than they did in the past. I believe that is due to the fact that these days, people in general have more possibilities to develop their careers. In order for the companies to retain their workers, they must provide additional job benefits.

People are more able to change their jobs nowadays mainly because of their education. In the recent decades, the level of education have increased significantly, with some of the research showing, that in Poland, the share of people with higher education have more than doubled. Young people are more ambitious and thus more demanding when it comes to choosing the right job. An another key factor is career development. Switching your job regularly allows you to gain experience from various positions, which makes you look more valuable by future employers. These factors lead to the phenomenon of job hopping once every two or three years.

Job hopping may be troubling for companies who want to retain their workers, but there are some methods which can help with employee retention. Firms need to acknowledge what the workers need and demand from their employers. One solution to this problem is frequent job rotation. People want to change jobs so they can gain diverse experience and set foundations for a differentiated careers with various possibilities. By indroducing job rotation, employees can gain experience within the company. Not only can the workers benefit from the additional experience, it make the job much less monotonous fostering employee satisfaction.

In conclusion, the reason why nowadays people change their positions much more often is the strive for career development and the broader possibilities people have. If companies want to keep their workers within, they definitely need to implement job rotation which is a great solution to the problem.