Nowadays, many people change jobs quite regularly, rather than working in the one company for their entire careers. Why do you think this is happening? How can companies keep their workers?

In today’s world, a lot of people compete for jobs that they hope to keep for decades. However, a recent trend shows more and more people changing workplaces every 2 to 3 years. In this essay, I will attempt to explain why this new phenomenon could be happening, and how companies can make an effort to stop it.

Many people in the job market today have enough financial stability to live off of entry level wages. This form of financial freedom gives them the ability to pick and choose where others can’t. Due to this, they would often look for a job environment that they think would suit them for the long run, so they keep changing workplaces until they find one that truly resonates with their image of an ideal environment that will allow them to prosper. Such examples of reasons to switch can be the realization that workers are not as appreciated as they should be by management. Another example is finding out that promotions are not as easily attainable as they originally thought when signing up for the job position. In other words, financial stability grants workers the ability to decide when to change employers at their own will, instead of forcing themselves to stay due to monetary consequences.

A way that companies can hang on to their workers is by simply understanding their goals within the organization long before the employee comes in for their first shift. Knowing that a great candidate for the position has unrealistic expectations beforehand can help the company by deciding if they are willing to come up with compromises, or to outright deny the application of the candidate knowing that they won’t last long enough in the organization. Companies can avoid these scenarios by being more transparent when it comes to job advertising. Their advertisements must be clear as to how much the worker is expected to be compensated for their loyalty down the line, and how much say they get when decisions have to be made that concern the employee’s line of work. Some employees prefer more responsibilities, while others are comfortable simply taking orders. Put simply, managing unrealistic expectations early on through transparency will help companies find stable and suitable candidates that know what they’re getting into for the long run.

In this essay, I argued that financial stability is the main reason as to why it is more difficult than ever to keep employees on board. Until companies realize that transparency is the driving force that will help them find the employees that best fit them, they will keep experiencing sudden and unexpected losses in staff numbers.