Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Educational institutes are focusing more on syllable knowledge such as science and history. Many argue that they should concentrate on teaching practical skills, that will enable graduates to find work easily. This essay totally agrees with this statement. Firstly, I would like to discuss how technical skills help one to find other sources of income in difficult times. Secondly, I would like to elaborate on the importance of other capabilities in the current era of artificial intelligence.

Skills other than conventional school teachings are significant to survive at the time of financial difficulties. Recently, due to reliance on global resources such as transportation of commodities around the world, the cost is highly affected due to hike in fuel prices or other factors. Moreover, businesses adopt cost – cutting strategies. Hence, in such challenging conditions an extra skill will help people to earn the extra bills. For instance, one of my colleagues is working part time as an electrical technician to pay the university fee.

The universe is evolving with new technologies rapidly. It is for this reason it becomes challenging to rely on conventional teachings by the universities. Furthermore, artificial intelligence is changing the traditional work style. Additionally, it is reducing the workforce requirement, because production activities are automated. For example, according to a survey published recently, unemployment is on peak due to elimination of many activities by artificial intelligence technology.

To Summarize, although the educators are focusing on curricular knowledge. However, with the changing dynamics, competencies other than institutional degree are highly demanded, to survive at the time of job cuts and changing work techniques.