nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? what could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Some members of society strive to work for themselves instead of relying on employers. This essay will first suggest that the enhancement of the internet and opportunities for self-improvement are the foremost reasons, and then demonstrate that irregular income and job insecurity are the primary drawbacks of this trend.

One of the motivations behind the decision of self-employment is that entrepreneurs can leverage the availability of the Internet. As a wide network provides the public with unlimited access to information, they are able to seek clients across various fields, deliver services, and acquire a contract, which does not apply to managers and analysts who are dependent on the company’s resources and guidelines. Another possible reason is the potential for a developed self. This is because independent workers need to create content and navigate through problems based on their effort, which helps them take on new experiences, broaden their knowledge, and acquire necessary skills. A clear example can be seen in the capacity to budget and manage cash flow among freelancers since they are often in charge of invoicing and accounting for the project.

However, the idea of administering every detail of the operation on one own can be disadvantageous. First of all, it is difficult for self-employed workers to better their lives due to constant fluctuations in the number of clients and demands. In addition, while staff are guaranteed welfare including health insurance, paid time off, and unemployment benefits, those who choose to set up their own businesses often struggle to do the juggling, thus leading to lost earnings and a financial burden. For instance, tradespeople, namely plumbers and carpenters, are most likely to be the victims of occupational accidents, so if problems arise, they have to cover their own expenses.

In conclusion, being self-employed may have certain merits relating to the flexibility of the Internet and the potential for self-development. The downsides of this trend involve unsteady income and a lack of welfare, therefore, should be considered carefully.