Nowadays many people communicate using social media. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary world, many people utilize social media as a means for communication as it eases their everyday task. People even make use of it to get connected in terms of business and to search for relevant job opportunities that would eventually help them grow in the trending market. Some social media platforms like WhatsApp, Instagram, and others are meant to be connected to family, friends and colleagues whereas platforms like LinkedIn, Naukri, etc. can be utilized to stay connected for industry purposes. This essay will elucidate the positive and negative effects of communicating via social media.

In the modern world, where innovation meets technology for the betterment of life, it is best to stay connected to the growing trends and make oneself best acquainted with advance platforms that helps likeminded people to share their thoughts. Platforms like Reddit, discord, etc. is used for interacting with people having similar taste and helps the user to share their own thoughts with public. Sites like LinkedIn helps global companies to inform interested applicants if there are any job opportunities they can look forward towards and encourages young aspirants to reach out to their peers for personal development. Platforms like Instagram, Twitter, WhatsApp and many more apps help the general public to stay connected with their family and friends. New trends, advancements in technology and other highlights help the user to stay in the loop of what is happening all around the world. These platforms help not only in communication but also gives an insight of awareness of global happenings.

While these platforms may be necessary for the means for communication, there are significant demerits of using these apps. These apps no doubt help people to open about themselves in their interest group but also weighs down on the ample amount of time people spend on these platforms. It may become an addiction which leads to an increased amount of screen time that may adversely affect the retina and become the sole reason for the cause of weakened sight as seen in the young generation. The adolescents might develop a temper due to the exposure to such sites. This addiction may cost a lot to the younger population as much time would be dedicated in watching reels, videos and posts which otherwise would’ve been utilized for productive work. This exposure may also result in migraines, insomnia, and irregular hormonal changes that affects the normal body functioning.

In conclusion, while the availability of such platforms is meant for us to be connected and kept updated, it should also be made use of only when it’s necessary, otherwise, it may lead to unhealthy habits that can disrupt the normal routine. Therefore, it is imperative to advocate for a balance that promotes both interaction and the prevention of any side effects.