Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The emergence of video games has completely transformed children’s play environment today. Although the exact effect is uncertain, both proponents and critics explain their own views arguably.

Those who support playing video games suggest that it positively affects children’s development of fundamental abilities among which are imagination and problem solving skills. Attractive content motivates children to engage in tackling problems throughly and contribute to the foundation of children’s thinking abilities. EQ can be also improved through understanding characters’ feelings in stories. Moreover, video games help connect children with offline friends because it often comes with competition and collaboration, both of which strengthens communication skills.

Despite such appeals, some concerns persist among parents and teachers. Playing video games is assumingly detrimental to both physical and mental health. Unlike traditional play such as tag and hide and seek, playing video games does not help build children’s physical strength. However, a significant number of them play video games with their peers even though they are in outside playgrounds. Additionally, violent content of fighting games can negatively affect children’ mental development. Both physical and mental disability may lead to student-apathy and lower academic performance at school.

To conclude, while moderate exposure to video games can potentially enhance children’s development and social interaction skills, excessive exposure to it may cause impede childrens’ development conversely. これどう私の英語力は