Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children?

With the improvement of technology, access to computers among people has increased. Improved technology has led to the creation of new video games. Most children play these games nowadays. There are both disadvantages and benefits of children playing video games. This essay will discuss this issue in detail.

For children who play video games, there are many disadvantages. To illustrate, most children who engage in video games tend to have difficulty concentrating. This leads children to have problems with studies. What is more, children who engage in video games more than four hours per day tend to get addicted. Having a computer addiction is more dangerous than it appears from the outside. Engaging in video games all day can also result in health and mental issues.

Despite having many disadvantages, playing video games also has advantages. While playing video games, children have the chance to meet new people. Those new friends can be from all over the world. Communicating with new people from all over the world is valuable. New friends mean new culture. They have the chance to learn about new things that don’t exist around them. Moreover, when children choose to spend time with games, they choose to do something they really enjoy. And most importantly, this is what matters most.

Given the disadvantages and strengths, and based on my experiences with technology, I firmly believe that there are more disadvantages. However, when parents take control of their children’s usage of computers, the bad effects can be lessened.