Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimise the bad effects?

Technology is considered by many people to be one of the most imperative contributing factors in today’s society. Some advocate that a wide range of people have access to computers and a substantial numbers of people play computer games in their daily life. Although this considered as a good advancement in certain tasks, I completely contend this would result in a negative impacts for individuals on playing digital games. This essay will examine why it impacts negatively and what measures can be taken to minimize the drawbacks.

On the one hand, proponents of playing computer games claim that it enhances cognitive skills. As playing digital games require high level of concentration and critical thinking skills, players may think a lot in order to solve a target problem. Consequently, they may master at overcoming complex problems, knowing logic of complex games ,and even have the ability how to follow instructions carefully and systematically in a short amount of time.

On the other hand, opponents argue that some potential adverse effect could also be considered. One notable effect is physically inactive. Being connecting with digital device and playing it in most of cause leisure time can lead negatively to diseases such as obesity and even sedentary lifestyles. In addition, it may also driven to eye-strain and poor posture in their daily performance. Another considerable impacts is neglecting their tasks, which could reduce academic performance as well as hand-eye coordination due to the over addiction of device.

From my standpoint, schools and parents should play a vital role in prevent children from these drawbacks. In terms of schools, teachers should educate about responsible technology use and integrate educational games in lessons rather than banned it completely. Moreover, parents need to set clear time limit for using digital device and encourage them to engage in outdoor activities or hobbies in order to prevent and diminish the disadvantageous impacts.

In conclusion, although being able to have a connection with technology may bring some benefits such as boost their ability of thinking, drawbacks of them can not be covered. Hence, with a balanced approach individuals can overcome unnecessary drawbacks for the long-run.