Nowadays, many peoplem use the internet to get medical advice instead of going to see a doctor, why is this? Do you think is it positive or negative developement?

With the rise the digital age, people are a great deal more likely to rely on digital tools to obtain medical advice rather than visit a doctor. I firmly believe that this shift constitutes a largely negative development, chiefly due to its detrimental effects on individuals’ health and the lack of reliable medical information.

The most troubling consequence of people becoming overly reliant on artificial intelligence or online information from internet is the gradual erosion of their trust in doctors, which can lead to misconceptions. With the emergence of technological innovations and applications, such as ChatGPT and Gemini, people have increasingly become accustomed to relying on AI-powered applications for medical advice. Compared with doctors, digital applications and online sources lask first hand experience and may provide people unreliable information based on their symptoms. In modern society, people are less likely to consult a doctor whenever they are sick, as they tend to regard online information as a more convenient solution. As a result, without consulting a doctor, people may purchase medication they find on the internet, which can have a negative impact on their health.

A further adverse implication is the deterioration of people’s health. When people self-medicate without seeing a doctor, they might potentially put their health at risk. In contrast, people can visit a hospital and receive an accurate diagnosis and consult a doctor who can prescribe the necessary medication. This approach not only improves people’s health and mitigates health risk but also significantly helps them prevent illness and develop greater trust in healthcare professionals rather than online information. Empirical research consistently indicates that people who visit a doctor are more likely to remain physically health and improve their overall well-being than those who obtain medical advice on the internet. Therefore, the decline of sick people can be seen as contributing factor to better public health outcomes.

In conclusion, the decline in docot visit is associated with both life-threatening health condition and misinformation. Given these adverse consequence, I regard this trend as a negative development, as it undermines not only individual well-being but also exposure to information.