Write about the following topic: Some people think that housing facilities should be built in the vacant areas of cities and towns, while others believe that parks should be set instead. Planting trees is very important for the environment. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Due to expanding population, there is an increase in the growth of urbanization. People think every space should be used as housing facilities to provide facilities for the population, but some believe there should be parks instead of housing.

On one hand, parks are the natural setting that provide fresh air to breathe, open space to walk and a place to socialize with other people. There are several benefits to having a park around one’s house namely, it keeps the surrounding cool and absorbing carbon-dioxide available in the atmosphere. It aids in reducing the pollution around it. But if the parks are being built in a natural setting that is already a green space and providing all the benefits one can then it would be a show case thing to build a park.

Housing is the necessity for a city to grow in every aspect be it economically, socially and culturally. It boosts the economic growth of a city, brings new businesses, and attracts people from different regions. It helps a city expand further. However, it also causes various problems, for instance urban heat islands, solid waste management, traffic congestion, and rapid emission of greenhouse gases. Using all the space to create houses only will create resource pressure on the land and lead to different severe challenges.

Rounding off, I would say that there should be a balance between both. Housing is crucial to providing facilities for people living there. But it should be integrated with parks and more blue-green spaces to create ecofriendly living spaces. Meanwhile, following all the environmental laws provided by the State.