Some people think that criminals should be punished heavily, while some people think that a chance should be given with a lighter sentence.

There has been an ongoing debate among people that criminals should be punished severely by the law. On the other hand, some people believe a chance should be given to these individuals to correct themselves. In my view, there are several factors that can affect the decision issued by law enforcers and apart from that few alternatives from above stated view should be applied in order to decrease the frequency of crime.

in recent time, several crmimnal cases are being noticed due to the severity and cruel nature. For instance, sexual harassment, and rape of infants and young child along with murder are on top of the list. These criminals should be punished severely by the law and should not be forgiven in any case. Nowadays, minors are commiting small level crimes and after getting light sentences they start to do the same thing again, these repeat offenders should face impronsment as they do not remorse and didn’t reslise their mistakes. Cybercrimes are increaing day by day and affecting the life of many individuals, therefore, strict punishments should be given to these offenders.

Considering above scenerios, it is important that law enforcers identify the right criminal and put them behind the bar without any prejudice including social and financial status, as each person is equal in front of law. Recently, there are several cases where poor people are punished severely for cases like theft, accidents, and even murders whereas, rich people can get away easily due to better connections within the system because of financial status. Apart from this due to unpredictable situations, many individuals end up comitting crime without an intent. So,, these people should be given a chance with lighter sentence to repent.

In conclusion, imprisonment should be decided on the basis of severeity of crime and intention of the offender. Law system should be meticulous while analysing cases and then sentence a criminal appropriately.