Nowadays many women have a full-time job and spend most of the day away from home. In what ways has this affected family life? Is this development positive or negative? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevany examples from your knowledge or experience

The conciliation of family life and carreer has been a relevant topic recently, especially for women. Many may argue that the pursuit of a carreer is crucial in modern times, while otgers are concerned with the negative implications of it.

People who support the fact that women may spend most of the day away from home mostly focus on the fact that not all women may want a family. This is reasonable and, furthermore, even with a family, a woman may focus on her full-time job if someone else can take care of the children and house. Such people may be the grandparents, husband or a housemaid. Moreover, the economical state of the western world, such as in the USA or in Europe, pushes people to be productive and have a source of income. This fact is a strong indicator of the need for women to have a full-time job. Families are also composed by fewer people nowadays, with most families having from one to two kids.

On the other hand, many argue that women have a central role in family life, and their absence from home has negative effects on it. This fact is strongly supported by the increasing amount of divorce rates in western societies. Moreover, children may suffer a lot in these types of situations, especially if they can’t find peace within their household. Those who argue that women should not spend most of the day away from home are often regarded as sexists. This is why the topic is quite controversial and both opinions have supporting data and relevant facts.

Personally, while I understand the need in modern society to have a sustainable income, I strongly believe that women have a far too important role in families. Therefore, I believe that if both husband and wife are away from home for most of the day, the family may be negatively affected by it. However, I would not restrict the responsibility of the household only to women, but I would take into consideration the role of the man too within the family.