Nowadays, more and more people are looking for ways to cure their medical conditions on the Internet. What are the reasons for this? What are the effects of such actions?

With the contemporary technological developments and the introduction of new gadgets to society, humankind is now capable of finding new ways to meet its needs. While previously we were used to visiting medical doctors to diagnose and cure our health problems, today, the internet offers us information to use and engage in self-diagnosis. This essay attempts to shed light on some of the causes giving rise to this phenomenon, as well as on some anticipated results.

Initially, with respect to the causes, we are provided with compelling insights if we take a look at the bureaucratic procedures which a patient has to go through to get better. First, they have to find a physician and then book an appointment, they will be lucky to find a free spot in a relatively short space of time. Further, they have to go to the hospital and spend a considerable time at the waiting room, where they are seriously exposed to other patients’ diseaseses. Finally, after the appointment, they have to go and get their prescribed medicine. Each part of this process is significantly time consuming and deprives even a healthy person of strength, not to mention one suffering from medical condition. By staying at home and searching the internet, not only one can avoid these grueling tasks, but manage their expenditure, as transportation and medical service come with a pronounced amount. Furthermore, some may be suffering from psychological conditions, like social anxiety, which prevents them from attending a hospital and a doctors office. This new option also seems beneficial to them.

However, there are serious concerns regarding the phenomenon. An accurate diagnosis requires years of professional medical training. One should consider the amount of knowledge that a first year student has to know to become a doctor. Hospitals are facing an increasing number of ill people whose conditions have gotten worse due to wrong self-medications. It is almost impossibe for an unprofessional to successfully find the reason behind his or her symptoms, and then prescribe the write medicine. Hence, it is just reasonable to witness cases which someone mistaking a brain tumor for a simple cold.

By diving into the situation, it was revealed that many people search the internet for remedy their illnesses to save money and time. Whereas, ramifications of this practice prove to be devastating and leathal. Taking all things into consideration, I tend to side with the conventional and normal way of dealing with health problems and simply visit a dovtor, for I can not deal with the harsh possible outcomes of a misdiagnisis.