Nowadays more people are choosing to live with friends or alone rather than with their families. This trend is likely to have a negative impact on communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is observed that many people opt to live with their friends or independently rather than with their families in contemporary society. However, some argue that the trend presents a negative impact on communities. From my pov, I disagree with this line of reasoning since there are many benefits that can improve an individual’s growth when living with friends or alone.

First and foremost, Living alone or with friends can significantly enhance a person’s sense of responsibility and autonomy. When individuals live independently, they are forced to manage their daily tasks, such as cooking, cleaning, and budgeting, which fosters self-discipline. Likewise, sharing a living space with friends can also promote responsibility. Each person typically has their own chores and commitments, encouraging teamwork and communication.

Furthermore, living with people from different cultures and backgrounds is a good way to learn about other cultures and gain life experiences. In college, students might meet new friends from diverse backgrounds and areas when they live in the dormitories, and that will be helpful in dealing with social situations as they become more comfortable with their new surroundings.

Nevertheless, this trend also presents some disadvantages. Many young people especially teenagers will take this trend as reasons for them to leave their house mostly their parents’ attention to do what they want. In addition people now tend to focus on only their personal life as life forces them to be better and they forget their families and living apart from families may get the family ties weaker.

In conclusion, while there are concerns about the negative impact on individuals choosing to live with friends or alone instead of with families, I firmly believe that this trend has benefits that ultimately support and enrich a person.