Nowadays, more tasks at home and at work are being performed by robots. Is this a negative or positive development?

It has become increasingly common for a number of people to use robots at homes and work places, raising an important question whether this trend positive or negative. Although I admit that there are some negative consequences such as laziness and fewer job opportunities, I strongly believe it is a positive development due to better productivity and fewer expenses.

On the one hand, critics argue that widespread use of robots can lead to some problems. One major problem is that, people may become overly dependent on technology which encourage laziness and reduce physical activity. As a result, it may lead to having serious health problems such as heart disease, diabetes and so on. In addition, modern robots are increasingly replacing human workers in factories, offices and even servise industries. Meaning, a number of employees lose their jobs and salaries due to negative effect of technology. Consequently, they struggle to survive in this modern life with high cost of living.

On the other hand, robots are capable of doing repetitive and time consuming tasks more efficiently and accurately than human beings. Robots usually complete tasks on time and they are able to manage multiple tasks at the same time, which significantly boosts productivity in workplaces. For instance, in factories, robots can handle daily tasks allowing people to manage more creative and difficult tasks. Moreover, although initial cost of robots may be high, they can can lead to reduction in long-term expenditures.

To sum up, despite some drawbacks related to employment and lifestyle, the growing use of robots in homes and workplaces is positive development because of some sound reasons such as productivity and reduced long term expenses.