Nowadays, more tasks at home and at work are being performed by robots. Is this a negative or positive development?

The increasing number of people relied on robots to carry out home and workplace tasks remains a topic of debate as whether a positive or negative development. While some argue that the utilization of robotic machines are the great source of avoiding human errors and increasing efficiency during work time, I contend that using robotics as a workforce has a long-term drawbacks on society level.

Granted, the importance of automated systems is crucial in the company’s workforce. By using artificial workers, the human errors can be minimized in the workplace that requires precision due to efficiency of machinery. In manufacturing, for example, machinery perform accurately in repetitive works and they handle it precisely compared to the human workforce, leading to a better product quality. Such is the importance of quality in industries plays a vital role in minimizing defect products resulting in increased revenue growth in companies. To take an example of Toyota company, they have reported a significant decrease in production errors and defects after integrating robotic systems. That means that how robotic automation leads to higher product quality and fewer defects. In addition, the use of robots in risky environments such as construction places or in carrying the heavy products significantly reduces the potential of human injury. Automated systems can handle those tasks productively, reducing the need for the human workers.

However, the drawbacks of implementing the robotics at workplace and home are indispensable. Firstly, were to companies to become over-relied on robotics, it would lead to a loss of employment opportunities. This trend would, in turn, destroy the lives of people who barely live by working in companies. Companies like General Motors and Ford, for example, have reduced the workforce by depending on more automated robots, leading to job losses among workers who performed those tasks manually. This approach showed a great negative influence towards society, mainly in increasing poverty level. Secondly, the utilization of robotics causes to a reduced human interactions in many fields such as in healthcare and customer service that cannot solely be replaced by humans. This is mainly because, although automated systems can carry out given tasks or perform routine works, but they are unable to show empathy that humans naturally perform. For instance in elderly care facilities the robotics that assists as a medication reminder ,thay cannot be a supportive care or offer a genuine that human caregivers actually do. What is particularly concerning is that, depending heavily on automats systems results in sense of isolation among individuals, eventually.

To conclude, while using an automated systems as a workforce and home assistance has huge benefits through industry revenue and human health, the drawbacks of integrating robotics are in the long run, reducing the job employment and human empathy.