Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. Why is this? What effects does this have on society?

It seems to be a common place to witness there are fewer students pursuing science major in university in many nations. While some reasons can be identified to explain why this is happening, in my opinion this trend could create a number of possible effects on society.

In the first place, there are myriad obvious causes leading to the declining rate of students studying science at universities, which could be that science is a difficult major. In other words, it demands that learners should have not only a strong passion and effort, but also a stable financial statement to pursuing this subject. At the same time, this could create some considerations when students are making decision about their studies. Second, the range of salary in science jobs takes the lower position compared to others. In the past, there are more people chose to learn science due to the fact that they believed this is a perfect career path which can be respected by sociaty. However, now learners could have immense oppotunities to access others which are more attractive and well-paid.

Regarding to drawbacks, with fewer students studying science in universities, there would lead to the lack of labor resourse in its, which is immensely disadvantageous to the developing nations. Nevertheless, higher demand for scientists is likely to drive their salaries higher, which then make it migh be less competitive. Particularly, that may contributes to promoting the development of science and technology research, while also creating motivation for those in this industry.

To recapitulate, the reduction in the number of students choosing science in universities poses a significant threat to the development of society. However, dealing with some reasons that stand behind this can change the situation.