Nowadays older people often live in retirement homes with people of their own age instead of living with their children. Is it a positive or negative development?

There is a growing tendency in moving older people to retirement homes instead of keeping them at home with family. I believe that the advatages outweigh disadvantages of this development.

Firstly, the elderly will feel themselves more comfortable with suitable medical care than at home without one. Older people usually need an appropriate medical care due to their chronic illnesses or physical disabilities. Hence, they require daily supervising by specialists, who can maintain their mental and physical well-being professionally, such as doctors and volunteer workers. For instance, a majority of people do not obtain a medical degree or even basic knowledge about it. Therefore, they cannot provide a nursing, which can lead to severe health consequenses for their older parents.Secondly, older people can improve their social life by moving to a retirement home as they will live among their peers. Communication is a fundamental for human mental health, because it bring positive emotions to person and boosts their seratonin level in brain. Moreover, nowadays retirement homes furnish people with various activities, such as playing different games, reading books or doing yoga. Consequently, older people enhance their physical conditions and level of hapiness. For example, a vast majority of adults don’t live with parents and only do small visits on weekends or holidays. As a result, older people remain at home solely and without any kind of social engagement. This downward trend has led to loneliness and depression amoung the elderly.

To sum up, I tend to believe that older people would feel themselves better in retirement homes as they provide a crucial healthcare and enganging in numerous social activities, which prevent bad mental conditions.