Nowadays older people often live in retirement homes with people of their own age instead of living with their children. Is it a positive or negative development?

These days senior citezins live in homes for elderly with other same-aged people rather than living with their children. Personally, I think it is both positive and negative development.

I will start by looking at the benifits of this trend. One major advantage of living in retirement homes is that older people may get more care compared to living with their children. Nowadays, many people lead a hectic lifestyle and they may not be able to take care of their parents all the time. If they stay at home all day long in order to look after their parents, they can not earn enough for living. As a result they will not be able to provide a better lifestyle for both their parents and themselves. For example, if elderly people are disabled and can not do anything without other’s help, it would be better for them to live in caring homes. This is because in such places they are better taken care of by staff. Furthermore, they are regularly monitored and get medical check-ups which helps them to maintain their health

On the other hand, living in nursing homes may have some drawbacks. First of all, although elderly live there with people of their own age, they tend to feel loneliness. The main reason is it may be hard for them to leave their beloved children after spending half of their life with them. Even though, they get better care in retirement homes, they may get stressed as they lack emotional support. Moreover, older people can look after their grandchildren and teach morals to them as they are truthworthy and have a lifelong experience. Consequently, parents do not spend extra money for babysittters or nannies, while grandchildren have a chance to spend quality time with their grandparents

In conclusion, altough some people believe that elderly should live in retirement homes, I consider that if they are independent and manage themselves, they should live with their children.