Nowadays, older people who need employment have to compete with young people. Whaf problem does this causes, and what are the solutions?

It is irrefutable that older employees who are searching for job have to face competition from younger workforce. Both younger and older workforce have to face challenges because of this situation but some steps can be taken to alleviate these problems.

On the one hand , the competition among younger workforce and old employees can have troubling effects on senior job seekers. Firstly, older job candidates might find it daunting to keep up with the new advancements in technologies. For instance, in manufacturing older people may not be able to operate advanced machines . Moreover, companies prefer to train and invest in younger workforce who are likely to stay with them for a longer period of time as compared to older ones. In addition, they believe that senior employees could lead to a decline in productivity and efficiency of the enterprise.

On the other hand, Younger workforce may also feel demotivated and frustrated to compete with older employees because of the following reasons. Older job candidates have rich experience because of which they outshine young adults . Some employers prefer to hire employees with experience rather than recent graduates. Hence it is challenging to find a job for young people and without a job and decent salary it becomes extremely difficult for young people to make their living , as a consequence of which some of them might resort to crime to fulfil their desires.

The above mentioned problems can be solved by policies of the government and the steps at individual level. To begin with, young job candidates should take up voluntary work and internships to build a strong network of connections. By doing this, young graduates have opportunity to interact with people from diverse background. These interactions can lead to meaningful relationships and even future career opportunities. Moreover, government can increase the budget for pension so that older job candidates may not have to look for a job . Furthermore, Senior job candidates should plan ahead for their retirement and enjoy their retired life instead of competing with younger job seekers.

To conclude, both older and younger workforce have to face challenges due to this situation but some steps at government and individual level can definitely alleviate these challenges.