Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

Some children have long endured heightened parental force in becoming successful these days. This issue can be attributed to personal perceptions and greater quality of life, which can exacerbate mental well-being if maintained continually.

There are a myriad of factors contributing to greater expectation of parents for children. First of all, parental perceptions about societal strain can intensify such pressure. More competitive job markets these days enables parents to perceive that their children have to become brilliant at an early age, ensuring in landing a job easily in later life greater work in more competitive job markets. For example, some children are likely required to become straight-A students at schooling, maintaining outstanding academic performances of all subjects, thereby building a better academic profile for further job application.

Furthermore, better standards of living for children can intentionally intensify such pressure. Compared to parents’ life in the past, children now have been provided more opportunities in most aspects, such as schooling systems or convenient accommodations, fostering personal growth easily. As a human natural desire, this living condition also may prompt parents to expect children to accomplish what parents have dreamt of previously, sometimes without considering children’s interest.

Given these probable reasons, greater expectation can do harm to children’s well-being. Facing parental desire, students can be merely allowed to follow parental direction, rather than pursuing personal ambitions, hindering themselves from discovering their own potential. For example, many individuals who have different talents at artistic subjects cannot enhance their dedicated skills if obligatorily guided to study specialized ones such as maths or literature. The obligation may limit personal interest and needs, in turn triggering personal depression or anger that directly jeopardize their mental health, and further shaping later behavior, mindset and emotional intelligence.

In conclusion, today’s social standards and living quality have motivated parents to put intensified strains on children’s higher heights of success, which can prevent interpersonal feelings and emotional development that can considerably influence later versions of individuals.