Nowadays, people are increasingly purchasing products such as cars, televisions, and fridges. Do the advantages of this development in the society outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advancement of technology, sales of modern devices such as automobiles, televisions, and refrigerators dominate today’s market. Although such an increase in the purchase of electronics can prove disadvantageous in some regards, I believe it presents far more benefits.

Admittedly, using such devices in large numbers can be costly to both industry and society itself. From the industrial perspective, appliances like fridge and television would consume large amounts of electricity units, which in the long run can lead to state running out of its energy supplies. Even if private cars would be diesel-fired, carbon dioxide emissions coming out of them alone will be enough to cause air pollution of significant levels. In terms of shifts in community life, use of modern technologies for daily tasks may promote dependency on gadgets among the people, which overtime will be followed by sedentary lifestyle and lack of movement. As a result, health problems pertaining to cardiovascular system and obesity will be widespread in the near future.

I, however, subscribe to the idea that without such technologies, it is hard to imagine today’s globalized world. First and foremost, they are time-saving, which is especially convenient for housewives. For instance, a dishwasher, washing machine or a robot vacuum cleaner turn house chores into quicker and easier processes. Consequently, there will be enough time for women to spend it with their children or other family members. In terms of car use, they are particularly beneficial in times of emergencies, when the desired destination is out of reach. Moreover, technological innovations had been the best policy for several problems, which humanity faced in the past. For example, in ancient times when there were no refrigerators, people did not know how to preserve the food properly, so leading to famine among the population. However, with the advancement of such innovations, now, people are leading far more improved lifestyles with many facilities, compared to those lived before them.

In conclusion, even though there are some decided drawbacks of such development, I firmly believe that all of the digital tools would provide humanity with the better lifestyle and future as well.