Nowadays people depend on technology for leisure activities. Is this a positive or negative development?

Some individuals are of the claim that individuals in their leisure time tend to depend on technology. Personally, I believe that this development is detrimental to users’ mental and physical health.

On the one hand, there are some benefits associated with using technology in the pastime. Due to the fast speed of technology development and high demand in relaxation among people, many companies acknowledge this opportunity, resulting in the emergence of digital entertainment tools, including games, movies, and so on, with different versions from free to paid ones. This leads to more chances to engage in those platforms with people’s devices and stay at their places without worrying about commuting, benefiting to enjoy their spare time. For example, people can pick up their favorite game platform from the App store and spend their leisure playing it instead of going to the mall or the game room.

It is true that technology has a large contribution to helping people chill out in their spare time. Nevertheless, it may have some drawbacks that require additional attention. Although technology-based entertainment media might be a helpful tool for pursuing leisure activities, it can result in the overuse and abuse of technology among users, making it harder for them to maintain physical and mental health. For instance, the lack of exercise due to the constant concentration on devices will worsen their fitness level, leading to obesity; similarly, it may jeopardize their mental health, leading to isolation.

In conclusion, depending on technology for entertainment might be beneficial to relax; yet, I believe that negative aspects are much greater. People should not spend their time too much on devices which can negatively impact on both physical and mental health.