Nowadays people depend on technology for leisure activities. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, there is a growing trend that people are depending on technology for leisure activities. It is my firm belief that this is a negative development based on some reasons that are explained in this essay.

Leisure activities that are related to technology such as playing video games and watching films bring certain negative effects for individuals. An excessive amount of time spent on screens leads to eye-related issues such as short-sightedness due to blue light coming from digital devices. For example, Vietnamese children using the internet and mobile phones daily are more likely to suffer from eye strain than adults who could not use technological devices in their childhood. This is a growing problem regarding children’s well-being in Vietnam and all parts of the world since they are affected by technological devices which are intriguing and designed to capture individuals’ attention.

Moreover, overdependence on technology for leisure activities creates bad habits and negative lifestyles for individuals. Other activities such as playing sports or networking with others not only help individuals feel energetic but also bring certain benefits for their relationships and horizons. On the other hand, using technological devices for free time leads to laziness since we do not have to go out or spend money. Therefore, we are no longer interested in other activities such as sports which are expensive, resulting in weaker strength and endurance, which directly affect our immune system. In the long run, if this lazy lifestyle continues, we will be susceptible to illnesses such as cardiovascular issues, reduced mobility due to our poor health and immune system. They may also lose relationships due to a lack of real-life interactions and quality time with each other, leading to loneliness and mental issues.

In conclusion, I believe that using technology for leisure activities is a negative development because it causes direct diseases related to users’ eyes and contributes to bad habits and unhealthy lifestyles.