Nowadays people depend on technology for leisure activities. Is this a positive or negative development?

In today’s technologically advanced world, individuals excessively rely on modern tools such as television or mobile phones, represented mainly in leisure time. Personally, I strongly contend that it brings about numerous drawbacks and should be avoided.

Indeed, this situation should be considered as a serious problem rather than a normal phenomenon as its impact on people’s well-being. Individuals originally spend their free time stopping working or studying to relax by participating in outdoor activities. However, this common routine has been substituted by consuming time for online purposes. This sedentary lifestyle is the culprit of many health impairments such as obesity, short sightedness. Children, for example, are now allowed to use devices without family’s management. As a result, teenagers frequently suffer from health problems and cannot escape from their bad habits. In mental aspects, high intensity of using phones, especially in free time, make people addicted since they create the unhealthy dopamine, the hormone of happiness. In other words, high frequency of dopamine has a side effect, causing individuals easily feeling tired and unsatisfied when they are not using their devices.

Moreover, using technology in leisure time adversely affects social skills. First and foremost, overdependence on the virtual world instead of taking part in social activities impedes our ability to communicate smoothly. In fact, texting and video calls lack face-to-face interactions, so that it weakens our ability to express feelings, eye contact and body language. Additionally, in virtual communication, we can only react to news or texts through emotions, reducing our ability to empathy and sharing.Consequently, it influences how we convey information and feelings in real-life contexts in an appropriate way.

In conclusion, although entertaining by scrolling or using technological devices seems widely popular, it may result in countless negative impacts toward our emotional and physical aspects.