Nowadays, people have adopted an unhealthy lifestyle. Why do you think this is ? How could this problem be solved ?

Individuals have embraced an unhealthy way of life these days. Such an undesirable development can be attributed to several underlying factors, so a range of swift measures should be taken to curb this problem.

Reasons why people have adopted a way of life that is unhealthy vary. The most obvious one is people’s daily routine is increasingly sedentary. With the emergence of technology, a vast majority of household chores have been done by machines and most of the people tend to have white collar jobs, which requires less physical activity and most of the work is done at a desk. Unhealthy diet is another significant factor. In this fast-paced world many people do not have enough time for cooking nutritious meals at home due to workload and those people are reliant on fast foods, which mostly consist of too much oil, sugar, salt and stale ingredients. Due to these reasons people inclined to lead an unhealthy lifestyle.

Turning to possible solutions, the biggest step would be to offer a gym membership for employees. This can encourage staff to exercise more often and experience the benefits of this inside and outside of work; this also lowers the risk of experiencing a host of horrible maladies including, but not limited to diabetes, heart disease and depression. Furthermore, governing bodies should encourage retailers to sell pre-prepared healthy balanced meals at supermarkets. This way, people can buy and eat healthy meals without wasting their time.

In conclusion, growing number of people who lead an unhealthy way of life is primarily a result of sedentary lifestyle and unhealthy diet, an in my view, employer’s and government’s role in countering this situation is crucial.