Nowadays people normally stretch their work hours and get more stressed than before. What are the reasons for this? What employers can do to make people’s life easier? Support your point of view with reasons and examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recent surveys demonstrate that employees in all sectors of the job are stretching their work hours, which is affecting their stress level and challenging their health. There are a few reasons that make the staff willing to work extra hours.

These include the pay structure of a job, the staff are told if the work extra hours, they will get bonus pay. So, most of the workers who might be undergoing a certain financial crisis tend to work extra. For example, if a person who does a 9-to-5 job has a salary packet of 5 LPA and has the option of getting a bonus of Rs.250 for every extra hour, then he is likely to do that extra because the living expenses for an individual are pretty high. Secondly, the ones who do work from home end up working extra hours, as they have deadlines to catch up and work for people from different time zones.

Employers can play a major role in improving the state of workers. As in the Netherlands, they should provide equal work hours and equal family time for employees. When this sort of role this applied, people get free time to spend with their family and relieve stress. For instance, there was a study conducted by certain researcher, and they concluded that the Netherland, it’s a happy place because of the equal work-life balance. Adding to this, the company should organise either trips, a one day activity programme, or team dinners to reduce their stress.

In conclusion, employers should be encouraged to maintain work, life balance in order to reduce their stress levels.