Nowadays, people throw away broken electronic devices instead of repairing them. Why is this happening, and what can be done to solve this problem?

These days, it can be commonly observed that nowadays many people have become a consumerist society where it is normal to refuse electronic equipment and digital tools instead of repairing them. The main causes are lack of components and old fashion devices, however the effects are electronic waste and excessive consumption.

Turning to the details, in the modern world many PR managers suggest that the main reason why lots of people throw away old gadgets is to be always in fashion. For example, companies such as Apple and Samsung are always performing. If a person wants to look fashionable and modern they need to buy new models every year to stand out from the crowd. In addition, many old electronic appliances are usually subjected to being thrown away, because many of them can not be repaired or will cost more than to afford a new smart device. A great illustration of this is the household appliance market, when washing machines or microwaves break down, many consumers prefer to purchase a new one, instead of repairing it, due to the fixing cost.

Regarding the effects, in the 21st century many parts of the modern technology could not be recycled which can provide the chemical emissions and toxic waste in the earth. A great demonstration of it is batteries, nowadays people have not yet learned of recycling batteries which leads to large scale of incorporation into the soil. Furthermore, many of the modern technologies need to be produced by many materials such as plastic, metals and minerals. For instance, many laptops and phones require large amounts of raw maturities which can cause problems with the excessive consumption of natural resources.

In conclusion, many individuals throwing away devices instead of servicing them is caused by lack of components and fashion causes which can lead to effects such as electronic waste and overexploitation of basic materials.