Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

It is true that these days, a great amount of food bought from shops and restaurants is being thrown away irresponsibly. This situation is occurring due to a number of reasons, and there are several feasible solutions that could be adopted to mitigate this problem.

There are a number of reasons why food is being wasted. One of the most obvious reasons is the modern lifestyle. People whose schedules are extremely tight. They have to go to work almost all day, so going shopping and buying in bulk for the entire week is the best way to not waste time and they can also save some money. But buying food for the whole week is extremely difficult for people who do not plan ahead. They tend to purchase more than they need, and a substantial amount of food may become spoiled and be thrown away. Another plausible explanation for this situation is food safety. Many people are concerned about poisoning if they consume food that is past its expiration date. Therefore, they often throw away leftovers and expired foods.

Nevertheless, various measures can be adopted to tackle the situation. The first situation is that the authorities should mount awareness-raising campaigns, as well as inform the public about the detrimental effects produced by food waste. Another possible approach is that the grocery stores had better to educate their customers about how food should be preserved and how to store products for a longer time. Individually, everyone should learn how to smartly plan for their shopping or make more frequent trips to supermarkets. We have to prevent ourselves from purchasing more food than needed.

In conclusion, modern lifestyle and food safety are two primary reasons contributing to the huge amount of food waste occurring these days. Fortunately, there are various effective solutions to tackle this issue.